Move Over Lyka & Noah, ‘Cus Rocky & Garie Are Here!

(my new favorite teleserye loveteam)

Considering that I’ve never formally closed this blog, I’d like to share my thoughts on tonight’s episode of Kahit Isang Saglit.

For the past two weeks, I’ve been waiting for that one special episode that lets me know that this one’s a keeper. Finally, tonight’s episode delivers a stunning climax, all thanks to Jericho Rosales and Carmen Soo.

One word to describe what I was feeling when Rosales’ character, Rocky, admitted his feelings to Garie was, “Wow.” The emotions on his face was just… incredible as if those feelings were real and this is an actual lovers quarrel we are all witnessing.

On the other side, I can’t leave out Carmen Soo. At first I had my doubts if this girl could act since her lines are usually light and fun and don’t really let her go all out, but in this scene, man, does she deliver. I love how her voice trembles as she verbally shows her frustration to Rocky and how she pushed him on the door — these little tidbits made the scene real and contributed to the pace that lead to Rosales’ now infamous line: “Hindi lang naman kita gusto eh, mahal kita!” is and forever will be a memorable line in our generation. It’s right up there with Milby’s, “I. Never. Said… that I love you.” 🙂

The scene brought me to a few tears, many squeals of kilig, and thoughts of “Oh my God….” Seriously, how’d you feel if someone said that to you?!

All in all, excellent episode — by far the best one from the series.

Now it’s your turn, what did you guys think? 🙂

Tags: , , , , , ,

22 responses to “Move Over Lyka & Noah, ‘Cus Rocky & Garie Are Here!”

  1. Muriel says :

    Sorry but I couldn’t get into the scene. Jericho’s breakup with Heart Evangelista contributed a great deal to this so-called great acting. If truth be told, he really has a lot to thank Heart for “breaking” his heart. I even commented to my sister that it’s the first time I’ve seen Jericho with “mugto” eyes in a scene. That’s not Rocky I see but the Jericho Rosales that his ex-girlfriend has been refusing to see at all costs. He actually shot this scene when he was still grieving over lost love. Hopefully, he will stop saying his love for Heart is “the greatest love”. So I can finally watch Kahit Isang Saglit and see Rocky and not the actor who got dumped. Move on, man. She has.

  2. cafemelrose says :

    @ Muriel – Welcome to the site!

    Thank goodness Heart broke up with Jericho then! lol

    Anyways, point is, like what you said, Jericho took his pain from the sudden break up and fused that energy with his acting. However, since I didn’t care much about the whole controversy over Heart and Echo (I actually thought, “Finally!”), I didn’t even put those two thoughts together when I was watching last night’s scene. Seriously, Heart wasn’t even in my mind as I was watching — I guess that not only does Echo have to move on, but viewers should too.

  3. raissa says :

    I am with you Paula. Thank God Heart broke up with Jericho because his career is back as it should be. He is one good actor that shouldnt be wasted.

    @ Muriel – I think he has moved on. I read in the latest Chalk mag where he and Carmen are in the cover he said that he “went through fire and is now shining like gold”.

    I am loving this show too. =) and yes I will agree those lines..oh those lines. I love the writing here as well. The banter, the simple things and yet dont fail to make us kilig. The song (DKKT) was in my head for a long time but it doesnt sound baduy when Garie was singing it.

    I like Carmen Soo. She can act and shes endearing. She really give Garie that sweetness and spunk.

    Uy nasa PEx na ang entry na ito =)

  4. sofierce says :

    I don’t know the whole fiasco concerning Heart and Echo, so I can’t comment on that.

    I am completely crazy over this series. I love Echo and Carmen’s chemistry. The show has so much depth and yet so very simple. It’s hard to articulate how this series makes me feel. I go to sleep thinking about it, I wake up and it’s in my head, I go about my daily routines still thinking about it. It’s crazy! I’ve never watched any series in my entire life, and yet here I am going gaga over a show, it’s ridiculous. 🙂

    I love Carmen. She’s beautiful. She’s a natural. The camera loves her. She knows how to deliver her lines, and does it REALLY well. And she looks good with Jericho. I think that’s one of the reasons why this series works for me. I certainly wouldn’t watch it if they don’t look good together. But Echo and Carmen together are just perfect. ❤

    Oh, yeah I love that episode too. Heck, I love all the episodes! 😀

  5. cafemelrose says :

    @ Raissa – I agree with you: it’s the simple things! I love how we’re going back to the basics. I’m tired of this whole “rip her clothes off and kiss her” deal and instead, we have the good ‘ole fashioned “courting”. Though, I have to admit, in today’s episode (10/3/08), I liked how Rocky first hugged Garie when he was leaving, paused, then came back to give her a kiss on the cheek. What a kilig moment!

    And thanks for the heads up about the entry being on PEX. As soon as I read your post, I went straight to my stats counter. lol It’s good to know that I’m not the only one raving over the show. 🙂

    @sofierce – Welcome to my blog! 🙂 Like what I said before, I love the simple (yet very cute) things in this series. Parang, we’re going back to the past where the guy actually ASKS you if he can court you. hah And yes, you, Raissa, and I both agree — Echo and Carmen look great together. I wouldn’t mind if they actually got together, pero I’m just hoping it won’t become a “Echo & Heart” thing where the both of them lost their place in the entertainment biz for a while. Now that they’re separated, both got their groove back!

  6. nica says :

    I was never into watching soap operas until I got hooked on Kahit Isang Saglit. Carmen and Jericho looked so good together. Quite amazing how they act as if there is really something going on with them…it only shows how these two actors take their craft seriously to have a good chemistry on screen. Hope they continue to bring forth good plots and storyline in the next episodes…hope Carmen does more appearances in the Philippines

  7. Clara says :

    Yay, i thought i’m the only one who’s a KIS addict.=) Yes, they look good together on cam.The most kilig for me was when they guested in Wowowee.You can see how they look in each others eye especially Carmen.I saw all their previous guestings but i think they really got closer last last month.Anyway,here’s the link of their guesting in Wowowee.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SyuHNlwzwF0

  8. cherie says :

    oh my gosh.. i LOVE KAHIT ISANG SAGLIT… i was never this fanatic before… i wasn’t into filipino dramas before but now, i can;t wait till monday to watch it…. i think about it everynight and search them everynight online.

    i can really see a chemistry… did you guys watch kapamilya deal or no deal??? oh my gosh the hug was really long… hehehe.
    i love that episode when he said “hindi lang kita gusto eh, mahal kita.”
    anyways i like that episode from when the guys tried to give her pasalubong… to, pushing rocky by the door when he was trying to escape… and the part when he said mahal kita.
    oh gosh, i love it…
    keep on watching ok…
    ECHOMEN forever.

  9. cafemelrose says :

    @nica – I agree: I hope that the plot will continue and get even better too. Sana there’s no “let-down” phase that’s seen in many Filipino teleseryes and that they don’t expand the series enough to make us all get tired of it.

    @clara – Yes! They look cute and very fresh on camera. And thanks for providing the link to their guesting b/c I wasn’t able to catch that on TFC. That would also be great if, at one point, Carmen and Echo could join the other ABS-CBN members when they have tours around the world. 🙂

    @cherie – lol True adik ka ha?! 😀 Napanood ko rin ang guesting nila sa DOND on TFC at 10pm. I was about to turn off the TV until I saw Carmen. lol Right then and there, I stayed up to watch her and I can’t believe that she had the highest deal ever on DOND.

  10. avon says :

    I LOVE KAHIT ISANG SAGLIT!!!!! JERICHO AND CARMEN ROCKS!!! MY NIGHT IS NOT COMPLETE IF I DONT WATCH IT….. SO AMAZING!!!

  11. jhaystine says :

    Reading all your comments made me smile and it feel gret knowing that we are not few but we are many!! I am also an addict of Kahit Isang Saglit.. It was more excellent for me.. I’m learning to love Malaysia and Carmen soo. Even the malaysian stars.. the one who played Popong.. she’s really an effective actress!! Garie’s mother simple yet satisfying and Amir.. she’s not that handsome, but u know guys? I’m learning to love him too. evrything that is in KIS was great for me!! Particularly EMPOY!!

    The lines? yah,.. they are pretty cool; very realistic. And the kilig moments are more than kilig moments!! I’ve love the most is when echo kissed her on the cheek.. and when Garie introduced Rocky as her Boyfriend.

    When it comes to heart and Echo? I really don’t know.. I am a fan of Heart before.. du’ know what happen.. but I want Echo and carmen together!! my eyes and heart really loves them.

    You know I don’t want to end this comment, I just wanted to express all my feelings about the series,.. My day wasn’t a day if Echo and Carmen wasn’t there!

    Carmen soo is really beautiful and I think she has a very beautiful soul!! I jus love them..

    Guys please visit kahitisangsaglit.multiply.com……..

    For me No. 1 eto..

  12. awooh says :

    i love KIS!!!!i love the chemistry of carmen and echo!!!!i felt “kilig” when they tease each other and keep saying “kulit and sungit” hahaha!!i love i!!!!

  13. mischa says :

    KIS is a rare gem in philippine primetime tv. echo and carmen are sizzling hot on the screen with their undeniable chemistry. props also to the supporting actors. believable story line and no OA kontrabida. this show is simply addicting! 🙂

  14. soocho says :

    before i started watching Kahit…iam excited to be friday so i can have weekends off from work, now i always wish weekends would not come or monday again so i can watch it, iam crazy about this series, i know iam not the only one iam from canada

  15. RONOFSANDIEGO says :

    Thank you abs-cbn for giving us K.I.S. This is the kind of teleserye that I will never get tired of watching. I don’t especially care watching soap opera before,however when I started watching K.I.S. I fell in love with this show. Carmen, not only you are beautiful and simple, you are great actress. Jericho, I am sure there is life after Heart, and who knows Carmen might fall in love with someone from the Philippines in the future. I am just hoping that abs-cbn will always have project for both of you and I can assure you that I will be the first one to watch you. There so many Filipinos who love both of you here in San Diego. If God’s willing….I will wait to see your next project together with Kristine Hermosa. God bless of both you and abs-cbn.

  16. nathan says :

    I’m a TFC subscriber from the U.S. east coast, and what has really driven me to join this forum is the impact that trembled my mental and emotional state. I just realized that there’s no better way to alleviate this disturbance I’m experiencing than to be part of this forum…..I am honestly so addicted to this VERY WELL CREATED teleserye “Kahit Isang Saglit”!!! I may sound exaggerated but I am really soooo into this show………I don’t care about the TV ratings demonstrating the struggling standing of this show, I don’t know how they conduct the survey, I just think that it’s unreliable and incompetent to represent the general opinion of the Filipino viewers at large…I don’t care what they say about the preference of the so-called Mega manila, I just don’t get it…..haven’t they gone through every region/province/town? With that I’m doubtful! You can hardly find forums of those shows from the rival network which they say are doing good and taking the top spots for being the most viewed shows of unknown and insignificant number of respondents. That alone tells everyone that there’s nothing much to talk about such teleseryes, I guess it’s because of poor substance…..I am not a fanatic of teleseryes but “K.I.S” just awakened my consciousness since it’s pilot episode…..You just can’t let another day passes by without engaging in a 30-minute show. Characters – Jericho’s comeback was a blast! His acting skill is undeniably SUPERB! He never wasted a single scene, he made it so REAL, from the simplest to the most intense scenes, he executed his acting in a very distinct way! We’ve seen “kilig, gunshooting, death, grief scenes in so many shows but there’s really something in his eyes, gestures, facial expressions and voice projection that will definitely make you say that Jericho is an intelligent, brilliant and very fine actor, for he never fails to capture your senses! There are not so many actors in the soap, but they made both old and new actors to blend effectively, some still exhibits raw acting but being able to work with the very good ones, you can see the significant progress in their performance each week. Some have only stayed on screen for just a short period of time but they have delivered their roles successfully…they picked up the right people for the soap…Story – the story is concrete, unidirectional, it doesn’t deviate to anywhere else, it sticks to the very core plot of the soap. It’s simply well directed, but most of all, it carries a very wonderful story! It has the right amount of action/revenge, sad/happy and ‘kilig’ moments. You won’t get exhausted or emotionally drained but will keep you thrilled, excited and stimulated each day, making you so anxious of what’s gonna happen next. The dialogues, the words are fantastic! From the places they chose to shoot, to how the camera moves and where it focuses, it was excellent. I may not know much about the technical side of a show, such as cinematography/screenplay and others but whatever it is, surely, they did a splendid job!…….I have never been so mentally and emotionally involved with any other shows before except this one…I just love everything about this teleserye, I’m impressed. I can’t keep my focus on the road everytime I drive to work in the morning, making me wonder about the forthcoming events. I need to say all these things because this will somehow help me discharge everything I feel about this very wonderful show. I also represent and speak for my friends and relatives here in america who are very much entertained. Even an 87 year old lola would stay up late just to catch up with the episodes. I know for sure that this soap is really touching the hearts of many. I am just an average viewer, not a critic by profession, who just wanna share how much I appreciate Kahit Isang Saglit. To the people behind this teleserye, saludo po kami!

  17. jojo says :

    KIS is the most famous teleserye in jubail-ksa and i will assure you for that, coz most of my friend friends and my co employees are always talking about this especially carmen soo.
    really i want to congratulates the team of KIS coz you had made the most beautiful teleserye,everything is so perpect coz it touches our innermost feelings ,very realistic, and wonderful.
    pls continue to make this kind of teleserye coz it really makes us realize and remembering that loving someone is the most beautiful thing to do in our life. and i sure miss charo was right that everything it is about love which s the reasons why we are here.

  18. rubilet says :

    yes guyz sooper bagay cla..but now echo link to karyll..i feel bad everytime i heard that gossip…carmen p[lz come back,,,,,,,,,

  19. weng says :

    very good much,nakakainlove naman!I am filipino-malaysian.

  20. Lepolo says :

    I love the move act by Rocky and Garie !!!!!!!!! Especially “EVEN FOR JUST ONE MOMENT” MY FAVOURITE MOVE .

  21. jodie says :

    i may not be a philipino but OH MY GOSH!!!!!!!!!!!! the storys are just WOW!!!!! im watching Lobo right now with Noah and Lyka the storys i just luv and ive been learning some words to and my gosh garie i love how she can actually cry wen really theres no reason to cry her emotions she is such a great actor and rocky isnt he just gorgous OMG he is so great in showing like how to love garie with out giving up there true love for each other

  22. Paula Morris says :

    Really enjoy the English Subtitled TV series. I have all of the ones that are available so far, up to Tayong Dalawa, and am looking for more!! If anyone knows of any other series that have been English subtitled, please post the sources so that many more of us can enjoy more wonderful series that come from the Philippines.

Leave a comment